I wrote this during election season of 2008. I had just watched a documentary called “Letters to the President.” I was coming out of a phase of being a punk rocker that indelibly colored my political perception. As a Son of the American Revolution I felt that the dream and the democratic experiment of America had been taken over by lobbyists and career politicians that made a mockery of what so many had sacrificed their lives for. My views of politics have matured significantly since the election of Barack Obama, though I still hold many of the same suspicions about the power elite. I pay taxes and vote, but I don’t like either party- I feel that the majority of Americans are relatively centrist and that isn’t something we see represented in Congress today. All the while, the mainstream news furthers the partisan divide and plays cheerleader to the political football games that are played with our education system, prison system, foreign policy and so much more. I often wish to have lived in a time when I could feed myself with a rifle and push out further to the frontier, away from these bankers, politicians and mudslingers; I often wish I could have lived with the Native Americans, warned them of what was coming. Ah well, C’est la vie.